Penarth Dock, South Wales - 150 years - the heritage and legacy  
Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . .

about . . .

Volume Four - An Era of Change, Uncertainty, Depression & War - The Penarth Dock Engineering Company Limited . . .

The business of the Company recovered from 1937 onwards and they were kept exceedingly busy during the war and post war period. Business started to decline in the middle of the last decade (1950's) due to the fall in the Bristol Channel coal trade and decreasing number of vessels of a size suitable for the Pontoon.

The removal by the Admiralty, from this area, of the Reserve Fleet combined with other factors compelled the Company to cease their ship repairing activities in April 1961 after eighty-three years trading.

The Company entered the field of general engineering and to do so carried out alterations to buildings and purchased the necessary plant and equipment. The Company now possesses one of the most modern up to date machine shops in the district complete with a well equipped shop for the training of apprentices.

penarth dock engineering company limited
The company letterhead dating from 1969 for the Penarth Dock Engineering Company Limited.

In order to confirm the new line of business, the Company changed its name to the Penarth Dock Engineering Co. Limited.

The Barry wholly owned subsidiary, Penarth Pontoon & Hodges (Barry) Ltd. changed its name to Hodges (Barry) Engineering Co. Limited. This Company was acquired by the Parent Company in 1920 and from that date until 1956 carried on business as ship repairers at Barry.

Home
About
Contact

contents . . .
Introduction
Contents

information . . .
Search this site
Contributions
Links
Recent Updates

150 years of Penarth Dock History and Heritage

© 2014 - 2025 - penarth-dock.org.uk - all rights reserved - web design by Dai the Rat