Penarth Dock, South Wales - 150 years - the heritage and legacy  
Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . .

Volume Six - Pre-Victorian to the Present Day - Select Aspects - The subway under the river Ely story . . .

Bricking up the toll house of the River Ely subway on the Penarth Dock side.
The bricking up of the toll house on the Penarth Dock side of the river Ely subway during September 1963. This was to prevent further vandalism and followed a number of violent assaults. The cost of maintenance was also probably becoming an issue and since the docks were closed to shipping the need for people to cross the river for work reasons was minimal. [002]
 
The last man through at or near to closure of the River Ely subway, Penarth, on the 30th September 1963.

The last man through at or near to closure of the subway on the 30th September 1963 by the owners, the British Transport Commission. The gentleman is apparently Mr. Gill Thomas of Plassey Street, Penarth, an employee, also close to retirement at the time. Note the cast iron ring around the entrance to the subway and the date "1899" at the top. So the last cast iron ring of the subway was laid when Mr. Thomas was celebrating his first birthday! [069]

© 2014 - 2025 - penarth-dock.org.uk - all rights reserved - web design by Dai the Rat