![]() |
|
Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . . |
|
Volume Six - Pre-Victorian to the Present Day - Select Aspects - Working the Ely Tidal Harbour . . . |
|
|
|
The 'Victoria Wharf' was completed c.1887 ; significantly later than the coal tips which were opened in 1859. It was named after the Queen (who died in 1901) and was handling commodities including grain, esparto grass for papermaking, oils, and general goods. The warehouse and wharf were subject to devastating fires on at least three occasions as previously reported. These remains are from the pre-barrage days since the water level is below the normal high water mark; at that time it would have been a saltwater environment. Sadly, it is lost forever and the water is now a 'fresh' water environment aerated to prevent stagnation. Thanks to Mr. Ben Salter, who is also passionate about recording the past, for posting this evocative image on his Flickr album of Old Cardiff Bay. [002] [069] |