Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . .
Volume Six - Pre-Victorian to the Present Day - Select Aspects - Working the Ely Tidal Harbour . . .
The remains of the iron ore wharf opened after the coal tips and ballast wharf. It was authorised on 9th November 1885 and reported to be complete by the 22nd July 1887. Thanks to Mr. Ben Salter, who is also passionate about recording the past, for posting this evocative image on his Flickr album of Old Cardiff Bay. [002][069]
The circa 1879 TVR track layout diagram showing the location of the proposed iron ore wharf in dotted lines and the existing coal tip and railway lines. The arrow indicates the approximate position of the photographer when taking the upper image. [008]