Penarth Dock, South Wales - 150 years - the heritage and legacy  
Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . .

about . . .

Volume Six - Pre-Victorian to the Present Day - Select Aspects - The subway under the river Ely story . . .

The tubular tunnel.

As we have said, the subway is 400 yards in length. It has an inside diameter of 10ft. 6in., the footway is 6ft., and there is 7ft. 6in. of headroom. To the extent of this accommodation the tunnel will be able to take horses and vehicles, but it is primarily intended for foot passengers, who will be charged one penny per head, the same as on the chain ferry.

The tube starts just opposite the Mission Church on the dock side, and comes out on the Grangetown side near the petroleum tanks of the Bear Creek Oil Company, on the Ferry-road. At each end is a toll-house with turnstiles, and with a collapsible iron gate for the admission of vehicles. The subway is lighted with electricity throughout, the inside of the tube itself is painted with white enamel, and the approaches lined with white glazed bricks.

Altogether the construction has cost between £25,000 and £26,000. The subway is bound to give a great impetus to pedestrian traffic between Penarth and Cardiff, as it is a decided public convenience, in marked contrast to the old ferry, which often occupied 20 minutes or half an hour in crossing from side to side.' - South Wales Daily News [325] [361] 10th May 1900.
Home
About
Contact

contents . . .
Introduction
Contents

information . . .
Search this site
Contributions
Links
Recent Updates

150 years of Penarth Dock History and Heritage

© 2014 - 2025 - penarth-dock.org.uk - all rights reserved - web design by Dai the Rat