Penarth Dock, South Wales - 150 years - the heritage and legacy  
Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . .

about . . .

Volume Nine - Pre-Victorian to the present day - even more aspects - Mr. B's 1836 Ely Docks . . .

A newspaper advertisement from October 1836 announcing a general meeting to be held 'at the Angel Inn, Cardiff on Monday 24th October at One o'clock, to take into consideration Plans and Estimates to be submitted by Mr. Brunel for constructing the Docks at the River Ely, and to empower the Directors, if the meeting shall so determine, to apply to Parliament for powers to construct such Docks, and other conveniences, at the River Ely.' The signatory was Mr. J. J. Guest, the TVR's Chairman. [156] [361]
   
c.1860 - Although almost a quarter of a century later the site of the proposed docks at Cogan Pill is adjacent to Cogan Pill House (known today as the Baron's Court). At this date it was the Corbett family residence and its appearance had not probably changed in the interim period.
   
c.1860 - A view across the River Ely to the Cogan Pill entrance, with Cogan Pill House and some sheds of a boat building yard ; probably Mr. George Cooper's yard which he founded in 1863. The Cogan Pill Farm is seen to the rear of the Cogan Pill House.
Home
About
Contact

contents . . .
Introduction
Contents

information . . .
Search this site
Contributions
Links
Recent Updates

150 years of Penarth Dock History and Heritage

© 2014 - 2025 - penarth-dock.org.uk - all rights reserved - web design by Dai the Rat